Can I get a hand? Another hand?

photo-8

I think I talked about this fiddle in an earlier post. I have really taken to playing the fiddle lately. I don’t know what I was thinking, but when I built this thing sometime last year I gave it a crazy long neck and scale length. I don’t know why. It made it, well, no fun to play. It was really awkward to hold and sounded weird so I just hung it on the wall and forgot about it. Until yesterday. I picked it up and thought, “hey I bet I can chop 3 or 4 inches out of that neck and that thing might be playable for once.” I carefully separated the neck from the fingerboard with my scroll saw and then I hacked the neck down to a normal 4/4 scale length. Glued it all back together, reshaped and sanded it a bit and bam it plays like a dream.  I can’t think of a reason I would have made the scale so long to start with, but after about an hour of cutting and reshaping I got the strings back on. I like this fiddle a lot more now than I ever have. It sounds a lot better too. Am I rambling? I think I’m rambling.

Oh yeah, that piece of twine goes around your neck. Wear the fiddle like a necklace. It holds it in place as you play, you almost forget that it is an awkward gourd with no chin-rest.

You can own this if you want. I sell pretty much everything I build. I’d like $400 for it. Email me if you’re interested!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

