This Banjo Haunts Me.

A friend cut down a crab-apple tree in fall of 2008. He gave me a few chunks of the wood. I put it away in my garage to dry. I had been wanting to do some crazy banjo with all kinds of inlay and carvings for awhile. I thought about what I wanted for almost a year as I waited for the branches to dry out.

Spring 2009 I had a rough idea of what I wanted and the wood was dry. I knew it was going to be a nice hard wood, and it was. It dried out nicely. It had a pleasant smell when I cut into it with my bandsaw. To describe the wood…well, it is like an apple made solid. Same whitish color, same texture in appearance. It’s very dense, with a super tight grain.

I’ve been working on this banjo for nearly two years. The project always gets pushed into the background as other banjo orders come in. This banjo was numbered at 43, I’ve finished over 20 other banjos since.  Every time I work on it I think of something else I would like to add or change or fix.

We are in the home stretch now. I’ve spent a lot of time carving the heel and preparing the body for sanding. I want to get this thing finished. I’d like to sell it. Anyone interested?

I want to inset a brass band around the outside of the pot. It will have all brass hardware and real gut strings. I can’t wait to play it.

Leave a Reply

