Silver Dust in the Grain

Hand-sanding is slow work, especially on a hardwood. I hand sand all of my banjos. Electric sanders work great but I feel like they don’t allow me the control I need over the grain.

My dad gave me a small chunk of silver a while ago and I’ve been trying to figure out how to create a fine enough dust to rub into the grain. I don’t know enough about the process yet to get any real results. I sprinkled a little bit over the fingerboard of one of the mountain banjos today, and tried to rub it into the grain. I couldn’t tell if any of it set in.

This piece is one of the best examples I could find on the web. Silver dust is an awesome finishing touch. I’m going to keep experimenting until I get what I’m looking for. It would certainly help set Carver banjos apart from the rest.

Leave a Reply

